Indiana’s backfield is getting recognition with the addition of RB Stevie Scott III on the “Maxwell Award” national watch list. The Maxwell Football Club announced this afternoon a list of 80 standout players across college football. Stevie Scott was just one of 14 sophomores to be on the initial group of players announced by the organization.

The award recognizes American’s College Football Player of the Year and has done so since 1937. The award was won by Tua Tagovailoa (2018), Baker Mayfield (2017), and Lamar Jackson (2016).

For the Hoosiers, the only other time a player has won the award was in 1989. After a 1,700 yard and 24-touchdown season, Indiana RB Anthony Thompson was named the Maxwell Award winner after his senior season at IU. He would then get drafted 31st in the second round of the 1990 NFL Draft.

According to a release from the university, Stevie Scott III was just the 13th Hoosier of all time to reach 1,000 yards in the season and he finished 14th overall in program history. The Syracuse, N.Y. native set Indiana true freshmen records in yardage (1137), attempts (228), touchdowns (10), and 100-yard games (6).

Scott ranked second nationally in yardage, 100-yard games, and attempts among true freshmen.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on October 29, 2019 and the three finalist will be determined on November 25, 2019. Both the Maxwell award and the Bedarik Award will be revealed as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show scheduled for December 12, 2019.

Full List of 2019 Maxwell Award Watch List Stand Outs

Courtesy: MaxwellFootballClub

(Photo: IUHoosiers)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *