Photo Credit: Craig Bisacre/Indiana Athletics

Logan Justus was one of the best place kickers in the 2019 season and unsurprisingly, he was listed on the Lous Groza Award watch list. This award is given to the nation’s top place kicker each season and 30-players were listed for the watch list. Justus was one of the 20 semifinalists last year for the award.

Justus was one of the nation’s top place kickers last year converting 15-of-18 of his field goal attempts (83.3%) and went 32-33 on PATs. He finished 8th in school history for his 15 FGs. He ranked 19th nationally in FG percentage and second in the Big Ten. He was named Indiana’s most outstanding specialist of the year.

The Lou Groza Award winner will be based on accomplishments throughout the season and semifinalists will be announced on Thursday November 7th. The three finalists will be announced on November 26th and the winner on December 12th at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN. Last year’s winner was Andre Szmyt from Syracuse.

Lou “The Toe” Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns and won four championships with Cleveland, and named NFL Player of the Year in 1954. He was the player that convinced future teams to have a spot on the roster for a place kicker despite being also a lineman when he was playing in the NFL.

Justus joins the growing list of Hoosiers on watch lists.

  • Maxwell Award – Stevie Scott III
  • All State Good Works Team – NIck Westbrook
  • Doak Walker Award – Stevie Scott III
  • Rimington Trophy – Hunter Littlejohn
  • Outland Trophy – Coy Cronk
  • Lou Groza Award – Logan Justus

See Justus and the Hoosiers return to action in Indianapolis, IN on August 31st against Ball State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *