After winning the Big Ten Tournament this weekend, Indiana was named the #3 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament. The Hoosiers (9-1-1) will have a first-round bye and will face the winner of Milwaukee (8-4-0) v. St. Francis Brooklyn (5-1-2).

This marks Indiana’s 34th-straight bid to the NCAA Tournament and the 45th in program history. The NCAA created its current seeding format in 2003 and, under this format, Indiana has earned a top 8 seed 11 times.

This weekend’s Big Ten Tournament Championship victory secured the double for Indiana, winning both the regular-season and tournament titles, cementing their place as one of the top teams in the country. This was the 11th time in program history that Indiana has won the championship double.

In the Big Ten Tournament Championship Final, IU squared off against a scrappy Penn State squad that forced the match into double overtime and eventually penalty kicks. Indiana came away victorious on penalty kicks, as Hoosier goalkeeper Roman Celentano came up big with two saves.

The Hoosiers received several regular-season Big Ten accolades. Sophomore phenom Victor Bezerra was named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year and keeper Roman Celentano was named Big Ten Goalkeeper of the Year. Head coach Todd Yeagley also won his third straight Big Ten Coach of the Year award.

– – –

Photo: IU Athletics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *