Today, Indiana University announced the 2018-2019 athlete of the year awards: swimmer Lilly King and soccer player Andrew Gutman. According to the university release, King is the first athlete in school history to be named IU Athlete of the Year on four occasions. Gutman is the ninth Indiana University men’s soccer player to earn the recognition.

Indiana University Athletics has a long and rich history of students who have separated themselves with their extraordinary athletic accomplishments, and Lilly King and Andrew Gutman are members of that elite list. Each was honored nationally as the best in their sport this season, and each led their team to a Big Ten title and NCAA Championship success. Congratulations to Lilly and Andrew on being named IU Athletes of the Year.

IU Athletics Director Fred Glass

Lilly King, an Evansville native, has swept the 100 and 200-yard breaststrokes for all four years. She is the first woman in NCAA history to win eight break-stroke championships. She is also a two-time Olympic gold medalist, winning the 100 meter breast-stroke and 4×100 meter medley in the 2016 Olympic Games hosted in Rio de Janeiro.

Andrew Gutman was named the 2018 Hermann Trophy winner for being the overall best player in collegiate soccer. He was also named TopDrawer Soccer’s National Player of the Year in 2018 as well. The Hinsdale, Illinois native has played and started in 90 total matches at IU. He has 20 goals and 17 assists during his time at Indiana University.

(Photo: Jamie Schwaberow / NCAA Photos via Getty Images)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *