BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana head football coach Tom Allen has been named Region 3 Coach of the Year by the Werner Ladder American Football Coaches Association (AFCA). This is the second time a coach from Indiana has won the award with the only previous recipient being Bill Mallory in 1986 and 1987.

Last year’s Region 3 winner was Minnesota coach PJ Fleck and the national winner was Ed Orgeron. The last time a coach from the Big Ten won AFCA National Coach of the Year was 2005 when Joe Paterno won.

Beside Tom Allen, this year’s FBS region winners include:

  • Luke Fickell of Cincinnati (Region 1)
  • Jamey Chadwell of Coastal Carolina (Region 2)
  • Doc Holliday of Marshall (Region 4)
  • Brent Brennan of San Jose State (Region 5)

The AFCA will announce the 2020 Werner Ladder AFCA FBS National Coach of the Year on Tuesday, January 12 virtually. The five regional winners are finalists for the National Coach of the Year award.

Tom Allen is also a candidate for the Dodd Trophy and the Paul “Bear” Bryant Coach of the Year award. Indiana is currently ranked No. 7 in the country with a 6-1 record. Their next game against Purdue has been canceled due to COVID-19 and they are now set to prepare for their upcoming bowl game.

Cover Photo: Indiana University Athletics

One Reply to “Tom Allen wins AFCA Region 3 Coach of the Year”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *