(Photo Credit: IU Athletics)

INDIANAPOLIS, IN – Future Indiana Hoosier, Trayce Jackson-Davis was named the 2019 IndyStar Mr. Basketball award Winner. The award ceremony was held at Clowes Memorial Hall at Butler University in a vote that took place between Indiana coaches and media. Indiana sweeps both Mr. Basketball and Miss Basketball awards at the 2019 IndyStar awards ceremony.

Trayce Jackson-Davis is the first winner of the award from Center Grove High School in Greenwood, IN. He is considered to be almost a local hero as he went to school a mere 38 miles away from Bloomington, IN.

5-star, Trayce Jackson-Davis is the 6th highest rated commitment the Hoosiers have in their history since ratings started being awarded. He is currently the No. 19 overall player per 247Sports.com, and the No. 4 center. He is the highest recruit that of any Big Ten school for the 2019 recruitment year. He was also named the Indiana Gatorade Player of the Year.

Future Indiana Hoosier Trayce Jackson-Davis from Center Grove High School.
Photo Credit: Indiana University Athletics

The 6’9″ Center Grove forward averaged 22.3 points, 9.5 rebounds, 3.7 blocks, and 2.8 assists during his junior season and has continued to impress as a senior. Additionally, he played for the U-18 USA team over the summer.

He is the 28th winner of Indiana’s most prestigious basketball award that has attended Indiana University. Archie Miller has now recruited two consecutive award winners with Romeo Langford being from last year. He will now look to extend that streak and continue “Inside Out” recruiting with 2020 SG Anthony Leal, who is the current front-runner for the 2020 IndyStar Indiana Mr. Basketball award.

Jackson-Davis is expected to be an immediate impact player for the Hoosiers with two of the best players, Juwan Morgan and Romeo Langford, entering the NBA draft this year.

This year’s finalists for Indiana’s most prestigious high school basketball award were announced back in April. Among the four finalists, two were 2019 Indiana recruits, Armaan Franklin (@unkle44arty) and Trayce Jackson-Davis (@TrayceJackson). The remaining two finalists included New Castle’s Luke Bumbalough, a Ball State commit and Valparaiso’s Brandon Newman, a Purdue commit.

IndianaHQ Shop - Indiana Tshirts, IU Hoosiers Apparel
2009 Indiana Mr. Basketball, Jordon Hulls.
Photo Credit: IndyStar

The winner of Indiana Mr. Basketball has had a promising record of future NBA success. Between the 2007-2017 NBA drafts, eight of the ten award winners were drafted into the NBA. Seven of eight were drafted in the first round and all have played professional basketball. Three of these players have attended Indiana – Eric Gordon, Jordan Hulls, and Cody Zeller.

Romeo Langford, the 2018 IndyStar Indiana Mr. Basketball award winner and one of three Indiana Mr. Basketball’s to declare for the draft this season.

All three of the winners between 2016 and 2018 are entering the draft this year and are expected to be drafted within the first two rounds including Kyle Guy of Virginia, Kris Wilkes of UCLA and Romeo Langford of Indiana. Trayce Jackson-Davis is expected to continue that trend when he finishes his career at Indiana.

After several near misses on the recruiting trail, Archie Miller will continue to pursue more 2019 high school play makers before the recruiting season closes with both Trendon Watford and Lester Quinones having yet to announce their school choices. Quinones will announce on May 10th, but Watford has yet to announce a date.

List of Indiana Mr. Basketball Winners to Play at Indiana University

  • 1940 Ed Schienbein
  • 1945 Tom Schwartz
  • 1947 Bill Garrett
  • 1948 Bob Masters
  • 1953 Hallie Bryant
  • 1959 Jammy Rayl
  • 1961 Tom Van Arsdale (Tie)
  • 1961 Dick Van Arsdale (Tie)
  • 1969 George McGinnis
  • 1973 Kent Benson
  • 1977 Ray Tolbert
  • 1979 Steve Bouchie
  • 1983 Steve Alford
  • 1987 Jay Edwards (Tie)
  • 1987 Lyndon Jones (Tie)
  • 1989 Pat Graham
  • 1990 Damon Bailey
  • 1997 Luke Recker
  • 1998 Tom Coverdale
  • 2000 Jared Jeffries
  • 2004 A.J. Ratliff
  • 2007 Eric Gordon
  • 2009 Jordan Hulls
  • 2011 Cody Zeller
  • 2018 Romeo Langford
  • 2019 Trayce Jackson-Davis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *