For the third year in a row, the winner of the Indiana Mr. Basketball award will spend their collegiate career in their home state, specifically for Archie Miller. Incoming Indiana freshman Anthony Leal was announced as the winner of the 2020 Indiana Mr. Basketball award.

Indiana sets a program record with three-straight Indiana Mr. Basketball winners — Romeo Langford, Trayce Jackson-Davis and now Leal. Purdue also had three-consecutive winners between 1964 and 1966.

Although the event is typically hosted as a ceremony, the current active situation around COVID-19 has deferred the event to an announcement by the Indianapolis Star through social media and an article on the publications website.

According to the paper, Leal was named on 103-of-236 ballots. His incoming teammate Trey Galloway at IU finished right behind him with 33 votes.

Leal’s career at Bloomington High School South ended abruptly after the state tournament was canceled due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic. His high school was one of the favorites to win the Class 4A State Tournament. That group was the latest team to go undefeated with a 26-0 record. Instead, Leal saw the conclusion of his high school career with a final school-record of 1,620 career points. He averaged 18.2 points per game in his senior year.

Photo: IndianaHQ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *