Anthony Leal’s commitment to the Hoosiers have largely sealed the recipient of the 2020 Indiana Mr. Basketball. No not recipient in terms of players, but rather the recipient as a school. The Hoosiers now have the top two ranked players (Anthony Leal and Trey Galloway) in the state of Indiana for the 2020 class and they are optimistic to add a third Indiana Mr. Basketball winner in three consecutive years. Of course, anything can happen and it is by no means a done deal; however, the Hoosiers should like their chances.

In program history, the Hoosiers have never had three consecutive Indiana Mr. Basketball award winners commit to the university. After Romeo Langford won in 2018 and Trayce Jackson-Davis won in 2019, Archie Miller the two top recruits in 2020 from the state and both will be vying for votes come April.

While having three in a row would be a first, the Hoosiers have had back-to-back winners four times (not including the current streak):

  • 1947 Bill Garrett and 1948 Bob Masters
  • 1969 George McGinnis and 1970 Dave Sheppard*
  • 1989 Pat Graham and 1990 Damon Bailey
  • 1997 Luke Recker and 1998 Tom Coverdale

Indiana has also had two pairs of ties. First in 1961 with Dick Van Arsdale and Tom Van Arsdale, and again in 1987 with Jay Edwards and Lyndon Jones.

Among all programs, Purdue is the current record for consecutive Indiana Mr. Basketball winners. They received the commitments of Dennis Brady, Billy Keller, and Rick Mount between 1964 and 1966. Indiana would be only the second school to receive three in a row if the voting falls their way.

Featured Photo: IndyStar

*Thanks to J.R. Lacey on a correction regarding back-to-back winners

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *